Dear Montreal Winter Locavore: Good Luck.

The idea of buying papayas and mangoes in months where your eyelids freeze really freaks me out. It seems so completely whack and unnatural that I can consume tropical, sub-tropical, and mediterranean fruits and vegetables in the lifeless wasteland that is Montreal winter- for some reason I feel like I should be instead gnawing on a frozen caribou carcass, or at least eating vegetables I pickled 4 months earlier. But I guess that’s kind of sick considering we already have to endure the winter itself- at least we could get some fresh fruitsfrom a hotter country to add a little liveliness to our short-lit days.

I’ve always just assumed that in the Montreal winter- there is no local produce. Our growing season is like 2 weeks long in July, you can harvest some apples and pumpkins in the late fall, and then boom- the great freeze and everything is dead. But then I started to wonder- there are people out there who live much more locally and sustainably than I, there must be some local plant product we can consume in our 8 months of winter besides thick cut bacon…and then I found it- Fruits and Vegetables in Season in the Greater Montreal Area – Winter. The list includes apples, beets, cabbage, garlic, mushrooms, potatoes, and onions (among others) as in season for December through March.

Excuse me? The greater Montreal area? Are you sure? I’m thinking it might be hard-pressed to find those local products in the summer, let alone the winter (Oh wait, maybe they’re not in season). I guess I’ve been shopping at the wrong grocers, but after seeing this list, I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for local fruits & veggies this winter, after all, I’ll have to see it to believe it.

Categories: MTL Food Identities

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

