Home sweet home Montreal… Part 1

I don’t even know where I would start to describe my love for this city. Living here has been the craziest, scariest, most independent thing I have done so far in my life. Leaving my family and friends behind to live in a different country where they don’t even speak a lot of English, was a big step for me. Especially living in the Plateau. I have loved every second of it though. Montreal has welcomed me in and I can easily call it one of my homes.

The Food

Something you will fall in love with is the wide variety of different foods there are to experience in Montreal. My favouring would have to the be the infamous Schwartz’s Deli where you can buy smoked meat on rye bread for a cheap price of $7.

Schwartz's Smoked Meat - Photo taken by Christina Cavaleri

Okay, I know it’s not the prettiest looking thing but trust me! You will love it!

Another infamous meal you should try when living in the province of Quebec is ‘poutine’. Now this is something Montrealers are very fond of and protective of. I personally did not enjoy the bowl of chips soaked in gravy and then covered in melted cheese, but everyone here L O V E ‘ S IT!

Something else I’ve learnt when living in Montreal, look for the line ups. I live off of Mont-Royal and as I was walking to the metro one morning I walked past a sea of people. It was 9am, what was everyone doing here? Then I looked up and the line was standing under ‘L’avenue‘. I put a note in my diary to go and visit this place that weekend and boy was I happy I left for school early that morning… This place serves the most amazing breakfast’s I have every seen! My favourite, salmon eggs benedict, come one… I know your drooling. It’s incredible, treat yourself this weekend.

Salmon Eggs Benedict - Photo taken by Christina Cavaleri

I will miss the food the most when I leave Montreal.

Categories: Travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

